top of page

Beauty tip #8: facial skin care during chemo

Similarly to changes in our body skin as I discussed in my last post, our facial skin suffers a lot with chemo. Even thought I was very careful with my skin care during chemo, I noticed I got lots of new wrinkles during my 5 months of treatment, but 8 weeks after the last chemo I can see my skin slowly returning to “normal” (or at least getting better!). Yes, unfortunately I got new wrinkles... but most people who I met during chemo were surprised by how good my skin looked like. The best thing is that my routine was simple and efficient!

(I recommend reading my last blog on body skin care as there are several tips that are similar and ingredients you might want to avoid or use)

Tip #1 skin care regimen

Start by cleaning your skin with a mild product designed for sensitive skin. During chemo I used a creamy cleanser by Lush with orchid and almond oil (applied with a soft makeup pad), which left my skin feeling nice and moist. Stay away from soap and gels which have alcohol (which dries the skin).

I also used a hyaluronic acid serum, which retains moisture and helps to keep our skin hydrated. Then moisturise! My dermatologist Dr Veronica Bender designed a special cream for me, but she also recommended Hydrance Optimale Rich Hydrating Cream from Avene. Basically what you want is a moisturiser for sensitive skin that contains ingredients that will keep your skin moist for a long time, such as shea butter and hyaluronic acid, and vitamins, such as C and E. Finally, apply some eye specific cream. Remember to be very gentle! I found the skin around my eyes has been very sensitive with chemo, and sometimes even very soft brushes are painful.

This was my routine twice a day. If you are wearing makeup, your skin should be ready to apply makeup now. A well moisturised skin will provide a good base for the makeup without making it look cakey or highlighting our wrinkles.

If you are unsure, go to your local pharmacy and ask one of the sales assistant to help you. You don't need to spend a fortune to buy descent products that will help you keep your skin looking healthy during chemo.

Tip #2 avoid sun exposure

Sunscreen is the best and cheaper anti-wrinkle cream available in the market! As I discussed in my last beauty tip, avoid sun exposure if you can (as this is going to increase wrinkles and possible uneven tone) and always wear sunscreen (at least SPF30). You can either add it before your moisturiser or apply a moisturiser than contain a high SPF. Hats are also wonderful and super stylish!

Tip #3 drink lots of fluids

Again, if you are dehydrated chances are that your skin is too! So try to have lots of fluids (mostly water, but also tea, juices and fresh fruit) through the day. Small sips through the day are the best to add up for hydration and will also help you to prevent mouth sores.

Fran xo

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page