top of page

Well-being tip #8: taste changes and metal mouth

I don’t think anyone ever forgets their first chemo. At least I won’t. I was so nervous I thought I was going to vomit as I walked into the hospital. The chemo nurses were amazing and made me comfortable, so I could relax a bit. Or should I say, made us feel comfortable, because I don’t think Ian was any calmer than I was. Once I was ready, with medication in the vein and the scalp cooling system on my head, a lovely nurse called Ellie came to have a chat and explain me all the associated side effects of the chemo drugs I was receiving. Thanks to Google, I was familiar with most of them. At the end of the list, Ian asked Ellie if I could drink alcohol, to which she replied: “Sure, if it doesn’t taste like you are licking the back of a spoon.” Lucky for me, I would enjoy a glass or two on weekends, but otherwise I am not much of a drinker. And although I could immediately taste the paclitaxel as soon as it reached my veins, a couple of days latter my taste buds were (almost) back to normal. I know, however the metallic taste can be one of the most undesirable side effects of chemo for most, so here are some tips to help you deal with it.

Tip #1: Add lemon, fruit and herbs to water

Although water might not be attractive at all after chemo, it is recommended that we drink lots of it to wash out the chemo and keep us hydrated (especially if you are having nausea). My suggestion is to get a jug, fill it up with water and add some lemon or lime, and herbs like mint. If you feel adventurous you could also add some watermelon, strawberries or even cucumber. This can be particularly nice during summer, as it feels quite refreshing, and even your family members who are not doing chemo will enjoy it. Jamie Oliver has been sharing some lovely recipes, which can be found here. Having small sips of water along the day will also help to avoid mouth ulcers and easy the feeling of dry mouth.

Tip #2 Tea with strong flavour might be able to mask the metallic taste

If you are still unable to drink water, or if it is too cold and you don’t feel like it, try to have herbal or fruit tea. They will help you to keep hydrated during the treatment. I am particularly fond of green tea due to its health benefits, but I understand green tea is not for all. Try some ginger and lemon (good for nausea too), fresh apple boiled with cinnamon (yum!) or fresh mint (which is always a winner).

Tip #3: Cold or chilled food might be more tolerated

Cold food will smell and taste less than warm food, and might be better tolerated. There are some cuts of meat that are lovely cold, such as roast lamb and pork, bbq chicken and hard-boiled eggs. Salads too: I really enjoy adding some fresh parsley and mint to my salad, with a dash of lemon, yum! For even more flavour, you can turn it into a Vietnamese roll. Home-made sandwiches or wraps are a great option as you can pack them with good nutrients (a bit of protein, a bit of salad, and the bread will provide some carbs). Cold fruit is also a good snack or desert. You can also make a smoothie with fresh fruit (such as bananas), yogurt, a bit of milk and a touch of honey: they are a great way to have healthy nutrients.

Tip #4 Use plastic cutleries

Metal forks and spoons might just exacerbate the metallic taste in food. This can be ameliorated by getting some plastic cutleries (even disposable ones, even better as there is no need for washing up).

Tip #5 Eat (sugar-free) mints or chew gun to mask the metallic taste

They will help you with the bad taste by stimulating the production of saliva.

Tip #6 Avoid your favourite food

You might want to avoid your favourite food if it doesn’t taste as it used to, otherwise you will be disappointed. Also don’t force yourself to eat things that don’t taste good during chemo. You are doing a tough treatment, and it is important that you nourish yourself properly. Eat foods that taste and smell good for you, that will make you feel well. It is a bit of try and error, but I am sure there will be things that taste great. I was constantly desperate for fresh fruit, juices and chicken soup. Those tasted wonderful. On the other hand, even Swiss chocolate didn’t taste that great, so I was happy to avoid it, at least during the first few days after chemo (even now 3 months post-chemo my taste for chocolate hasn’t returned). Remember you are already going through so much, and food should make us feel better, not worse.

Tip #7 Keep a good oral hygiene

Brush your teeth with a soft toothbrush after each meal, and rinse your mouth with a mixture of 50% salt and 50% baking soda in water before you eat. This should neutralise the bad taste and help to heal any mouth sores.

Tip #8 If food tastes...

Too sweet: add drops of lemon or lime.

Metallic or bitter: add something a bit sweet.

Too salty: add some lemon juice (and avoid adding salt while cooking, and avoid processed food).

Tip #9: If food lacks flavour

Add spices and herbs, wine, barbecue or teriyaki sauce, bacon or sausage (even a little bit will add lots of flavour), mustard, soy sauce. Cheese such as tasty is a good option too, and a good snack. Marinated meat might taste better too (you can use fruit juice, wine, or sauces like the ones above).

Tip #10 If all goes wrong...

Remember to tell your chemo nurse that everything taste metallic and you don’t feel like eating. She can give you other recommendations. Otherwise all hospitals have dieticians available and they would be able to help you with alternative food options (such as protein shakes).

The best thing is metallic taste does go away at the end of the treatment (yay)! Just hang in there a bit longer!

Wishing you lots of health and love

Fran xo

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page